Jump to Navigation

Bail Ranges for Particular Criminal Offenses

NEW JERSEY BAIL SCHEDULE FOR SPECIFIC CRIMINAL OFFENSES

The Courts in New Jersey have bail guidelines which are to be followed by Judges in Determining the Amount of Bail in the Superior Court and Municipal Courts throughout the state. The guidelines contain a schedule of particular criminal charges, grade of offense, and corresponding suggested ranges for setting bail. The following is a compilation of the bail ranges prepared by the attorneys at our law firm, the Law Offices of Jonathan Marshall. If you have additional questions New Jersey Bail or are seeking more specific information, our lawyers are available 24/7 at 1-877-450-8301.

CHARGE

DEGREE

BAIL RANGE

10% CASH BAIL OPTION

Murder

1 st Degree

$250,000 to $75,000

No 10%

Felony Murder

1 st Degree

$250,000 to $750,000

No 10%

Kidnapping

1 st Degree

$200,000 to $400,000

No 10%

2 nd Degree

$100,000 to $200,000

No 10%

Aggravated Manslaughter

1 st Degree

$200,000 to $500,000

No 10%

Manslaughter

2 nd degree

$100,000 to $200,000

No 10%

Aggravated Sexual Assault

1 st Degree

$150,000 to $300,000

No 10%

Sexual Assault

2 nd Degree

$50,000 to $200,000

No 10%

Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact

3 rd Degree

$25,000 to $100,000

10% permissible

Contempt of Domestic Violence Restraining Order

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $2,500

10% permissible

Death by Auto or Vessel

1 st Degree

$150,000 to $350,000

10% permissible

2 nd Degree

$50,000 to $150,000

10% permissible

Aggravated Assault

2 nd Degree

$35,000 to $100,000

10% permissible

Aggravated Assault (with a deadly weapon)

3 rd Degree

$20,000 to $50,000

10% permissible

Aggravated Assault (recklessly causing bodily injury w/ deadly weapon)

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10 permissible

Leaving the Scene of a Motor Vehicle Accident Resulting in Serious Bodily Injury

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Knowingly Leaving the Scene of a Motor Vehicle Accident Resulting in Death

3 rd Degree

$15,000 to $35,000

10% permissible

Terroristic Threats

2 nd Degree

$25,000 to $50,000

10% permissible

3 rd Degree

$10,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

Stalking

3 rd Degree

$20,000 to $50,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Criminal Restraint

3 rd Degree

$10,000 to $25,000

10% permissible

Luring, Enticing Child, Attempts

2 nd Degree

$50,000 to $100,000

10% permissible

Criminal Sexual Contact

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Lewdness

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Robbery

1 st Degree

$100,000 to $250,000

No 10%

2 nd Degree

$50,000 to $100,000

No 10%

Carjacking

1 st Degree

$100,000 to $250,000

No 10%

Aggravated Arson

2 nd Degree

$35,000 to $75,000

No 10%

Arson

3 rd Degree

$10,000 to $35,000

10% permissible

Criminal Mischief

2 nd Degree

$50,000 to $75,000

10% permissible

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $15,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Burglary

2 nd Degree

$35,000 to $75,000

No 10%

3 rd Degree

$10,000 to $50,000

10% permissible

Criminal Trespass

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Theft

2 nd Degree

$35,000 to $75,000

10% permissible except if by extortion

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Shoplifting

2 nd Degree

$35,000 to $75,000

10% permissible

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Forgery

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

2 nd Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

False Identification (Driver's License or other document issues by governmental agency to verify identity or age; simulation)

2 nd Degree

$35,000 to $75,000

10% permissible

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Bad Checks

2 nd Degree

$35,000 to $75,000

10% permissible

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Credit Cards

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Endangering the Welfare of Children

1 st Degree

$100,000 to $250,000

No 10%

2 nd Degree

$50,000 to $100,000

No 10%

3 rd Degree

$20,000 to $50,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Resisting Arrest, Eluding Officers

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $1,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Eluding

2 nd Degree

$25,000 to $50,000

No 10%

3 rd Degree

$10,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

Escape

2 nd Degree

$25,000 to $50,000

No 10%

3 rd Degree

$10,000 to $25,000

No 10%

Manufacturing, Distributing, Dispensing a Controlled Dangerous Substance

1 st Degree

$100,000 to $250,000

No 10%

2 nd Degree

$75,000 to $150,000

No 10%

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Distributing, Dispensing or Possessing Controlled Dangerous Substance with Intent to Distribute on or near School Property or School Bus

2 nd Degree

$25,000 to $50,000

No 10%

3 rd Degree

$10,000 to $25,000

10% permissible

Possession of Controlled Dangerous Substance

3 rd Degree

$5,000 to $10,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Prohibited Weapons and Devices

3 rd Degree

$7,500 to $20,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Possession of Weapons for Unlawful Purposes

2 nd Degree

$50,000 to $100,000

No 10%

3 rd Degree

$10,000 to $20,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Unlawful Possession of Weapons

3 rd Degree

$7,500 to $20,000

10% permissible

4 th Degree

$1,000 to $2,500

10% permissible

Simple Assault

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $2,500

10% permissible

Petty Disorderly Persons

$100 to $500

10% permissible

False Imprisonment

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $2,500

10% permissible

Disorderly Conduct

Petty Disorderly Persons

$100 to $500

10% permissible

Harassment

4 th Degree

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Petty Disorderly Persons

$100 to $500

10% permissible

Possession or Consumption of Alcoholic Beverage by Person under Legal Age

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Possession of Alcoholic Beverage on School Property

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible

Offering Alcoholic Beverages to Underage Persons

Disorderly Persons

$500 to $1,000

10% permissible


Follow John on twitter @jabalaw

The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall represent New Jersey adult and juvenile clients from offices in Shrewsbury, Cranford, Toms River, Jersey City and New Brunswick. We provide prompt and convenient client service to people in such communities as Newark, Plainfield, Freehold, Eatontown, East Brunswick, Edison, Woodbridge, Westfield, Clark, Rahway, Piscataway, Sayreville, Elizabeth, Middletown, Asbury Park, Long Branch, Jackson, Lakewood, Point Pleasant, Edison, Old Bridge, Aberdeen, Linden, Belmar, Eatontown, Hazlet, Holmdel, Ocean, Sea Bright, Hoboken, Weehawken, Seaside Park, Seaside Heights, Tinton Falls, Wall, Brick, Dover, Jackson, and other locations in Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Union County, Ocean County, Burlington County, Mercer County, Essex County, Hudson County and Morris County.

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.