Jump to Navigation

Fines & Penalties for Disorderly Persons & Petty Disorderly Persons Offenses

Fines, Penalties & Other Punishment Imposed Upon Conviction for a Disorderly Persons Offense

The most common variety of charge heard by the Municipal Court and Criminal Courts in NJ is referred to as a Disorderly Persons Offense. This pedigree of offense also includes Petty Disorderly Persons Offenses which are less serious in nature. Irrespective of which type of these charges you are subject to, the penalties that may be imposed if you are convicted, can severely effect your life. Please do hesitate to contact our firm, the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, if you want assistance in avoiding the repurcussions of a negative outcome as our lawyers have significant experience to insure that this does not happen. An attorney is available anytime 24/7 at 1-877-450-8301 to assist you and we hope that you also find the information that follows to be helpful.

Jail Time

In accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:43-8 of New Jersey Law, a person who is convicted of either a disorderly persons or petty disorderly persons offense may be incarcerated, that is, sentenced to a period in jail. The maximum period of jail is six (6) months for a Disorderly Persons Offense and thirty (30) days for a Petty Disorderly Persons Offense. Certain provisions of the law in NJ also make jail mandatory upon conviction, for example, there is a mandatory minimum period of incarceration of ninety (90) days for a third offense of disorderly person Shoplifting.

Fines & Assessments

N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3(c) also permits a NJ judge to impose a fine of up to $1,000 for a Disorderly Persons Offense and $500 for a Petty Disorderly Persons Offense. A defendant is required to pay additional assessments upon being convicted or pleading guilty to such a charge. Court costs in the amount of $33 are imposed on every count of the complaint which the accused is found guilty of, along with assessments of $50 for the Victims of Crime Compensation Board ("VCCB") and $75 for the Safe Neighborhoods Services Fund. Additionally, a Drug Enforcement and Demand Reduction Penalty ("DEDR") is imposed where the disorderly persons offense involves Possession of Drugs or Drug Paraphernalia. Drug and paraphernalia charges also give rise to a mandatory period of drivers license suspension of six (6) months absent a showing of hardship.

Failure to Pay Fines

When a defendant fails to pay fines, assessments or restitution, a court may order them to appear by way of notice or warrant. The related appearance in court is intended to determine whether modificatioin of the fine and sentence is warranted based on a genuine inability to pay. If the Court finds, however, that the nonpayment is wilful, then the defendant may be held in contempt and incarcerated.

If you would like more information regarding a particular criminal matter, a lawyer from our defense firm would be happy to assist you. Our attorneys are always interested in speaking to potential clients or just answering questions. Give us a call at 1-877-450-8301 if you need our help.

Follow John on twitter @jabalaw

The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall represent New Jersey adult and juvenile clients from offices in Shrewsbury, Cranford, Toms River, Jersey City and New Brunswick. We provide prompt and convenient client service to people in such communities as Newark, Plainfield, Freehold, Eatontown, East Brunswick, Edison, Woodbridge, Westfield, Clark, Rahway, Piscataway, Sayreville, Elizabeth, Middletown, Asbury Park, Long Branch, Jackson, Lakewood, Point Pleasant, Edison, Old Bridge, Aberdeen, Linden, Belmar, Eatontown, Hazlet, Holmdel, Ocean, Sea Bright, Hoboken, Weehawken, Seaside Park, Seaside Heights, Tinton Falls, Wall, Brick, Dover, Jackson, and other locations in Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Union County, Ocean County, Burlington County, Mercer County, Essex County, Hudson County and Morris County.

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.