NJ Handgun & Other Firearm Charges
The laws in New Jersey are extremely stringent as it relates to firearms, especially handgun violations. Lawmakers in the state have limited lawful possession of guns to narrow circumstances and, in some situations, have outlawed weapons or components (e.g certain bullets, magazines, assault rifles, etc.) altogether. The complexity of the gun laws and related penalties in NJ is such that it clearly is a mistake to attempt to play around with a gun charge without the assistance of a seasoned defense attorney. This absolutely is not the type of offense to which an individual can hesitate in retaining the best lawyer he can afford as many firearm charges carry significant jail exposure and virtually all handgun violations now carry mandatory jail in the event of conviction. Our defense team includes two former prosecutors and a team of attorneys that possesses over 60 years of experience to insure that you are not convicted. One of our lawyers, Colin Bonus, also happens to be a highly experienced third generation gunman with over 30 years in practice and many more dealing with the gun laws of New Jersey. If you have been arrested or charged with a weapons violation, including illegal possession of a handgun, we have the know how and dedication to best assist you. Give us a call to discuss your case anytime 24/7 at 1-877-450-8301 or feel free to contact us to schedule a free initial consultation in one of our 6 NJ offices.
We have organized our discussion of New Jersey Weapons Offenses by dividing information into subject pages that coincide with the more common violations charged or indicted in the state. You are encouraged to utilize the practice pages that follow to educate yourself and to give us a call if you have a more detailed question or were arrested on a firearm charge and have yet to retain an attorney.