Jump to Navigation

Sexual Assault Charges

New Jersey Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer

The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall represent clients charged with criminal sexual contact, luring, enticing, and endangering the welfare of a minor throughout New Jersey including in Toms River, New Brunswick, Freehold, and Morristown. Contact our experienced criminal defense lawyers for a free initial consultation at (877)450-8301. We understand the impact these charges can have on your life and your family. The collateral consequences of a sexual crime conviction in New Jersey are severe: Contact our office for immediate assistance.

First Degree Aggravated Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey

A conviction for aggravated sexual assault in New Jersey comes with serious consequences: up to twenty (20) years in state prison and Megan's Law registration requirements. Our criminal defense lawyers can help. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has a criminal trial team of former prosecutors and experienced criminal defense lawyers ready to take your case to trial. Our aggressive plea negotiation strategies can often lead to a downgrade of charges, probation, or a dismissal of the charges altogether.

In New Jersey, the statute which governs charges for aggravated sexual assault is N.J.S. 2C:14-2(a) which provides:

§ 2C:14-2. Sexual assault

a. An actor is guilty of aggravated sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual penetration with another person under any one of the following circumstances:

(1) The victim is less than 13 years old;

(2) The victim is at least 13 but less than 16 years old; and

(a) The actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree, or

(b) The actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor's legal, professional, or occupational status, or

(c) The actor is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household;

(3) The act is committed during the commission, or attempted commission, whether alone or with one or more other persons, of robbery, kidnapping, homicide, aggravated assault on another, burglary, arson or criminal escape;

(4) The actor is armed with a weapon or any object fashioned in such a manner as to lead the victim to reasonably believe it to be a weapon and threatens by word or gesture to use the weapon or object;

(5) The actor is aided or abetted by one or more other persons and the actor uses physical force or coercion;

(6) The actor uses physical force or coercion and severe personal injury is sustained by the victim;

(7) The victim is one whom the actor knew or should have known was physically helpless, mentally defective or mentally incapacitated.

Aggravated sexual assault is a crime of the first degree.

Second Degree Sexual Assault Charges in NJ

A sexual assault charge in New Jersey is a second degree offense, which requires between five (5) and ten (10) years in state prison and there is a presumption of incarceration with a second degree crime. Moreover, a second degree sexual assault conviction will lead to Megan's Law registration and potentially community supervision for life.

The statute which governs a second degree sexual assault charge in New Jersey is N.J.S. 2C:14-2(b)-(c) which provide:

b. An actor is guilty of sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual contact with a victim who is less than 13 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.

c. An actor is guilty of sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual penetration with another person under any one of the following circumstances:

(1) The actor uses physical force or coercion, but the victim does not sustain severe personal injury;

(2) The victim is on probation or parole, or is detained in a hospital, prison or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor's legal, professional or occupational status;

(3) The victim is at least 16 but less than 18 years old and:

(a) The actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree; or

(b) The actor has supervisory or disciplinary power of any nature or in any capacity over the victim; or

(c) The actor is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household;

(4) The victim is at least 13 but less than 16 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.

Sexual assault is a crime of the second degree.

Collateral Consequences of a Sex Crime in NJ: Megan's Law and Community Supervision for Life

If you or a loved one has been charged with a sex offense in New Jersey, contact the experienced criminal defense lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall for help. A plea of guilty or a conviction for aggravated sexual assault or sexual assault in New Jersey will lead to significant jail time as well as Megan's Law registration requirements and community supervision for life. Megan's Law may require registration in an internet database as well as notifications in the community, your neighborhood, and your place of employment. Further, a Megan's Law registrant is only eligible to be removed from these registration requirements after fifteen (15) years and there are certain criteria that must be met in order to be removed. If you have been convicted of aggravated sexual assault in New Jersey, you are not eligible to be removed from Megan's Law, ever. As a result, it is imperative that you contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer to represent you against these serious charges. Contact the Law Offices of John Marshall at (877)450-8301. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.

Follow John on twitter @jabalaw

The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall represent New Jersey adult and juvenile clients from offices in Shrewsbury, Cranford, Toms River, Jersey City and New Brunswick. We provide prompt and convenient client service to people in such communities as Newark, Plainfield, Freehold, Eatontown, East Brunswick, Edison, Woodbridge, Westfield, Clark, Rahway, Piscataway, Sayreville, Elizabeth, Middletown, Asbury Park, Long Branch, Jackson, Lakewood, Point Pleasant, Edison, Old Bridge, Aberdeen, Linden, Belmar, Eatontown, Hazlet, Holmdel, Ocean, Sea Bright, Hoboken, Weehawken, Seaside Park, Seaside Heights, Tinton Falls, Wall, Brick, Dover, Jackson, and other locations in Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Union County, Ocean County, Burlington County, Mercer County, Essex County, Hudson County and Morris County.

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.