Shrewsbury, New Jersey, Lawyer:
DMV Surcharges and Traffic Offenses
If you are convicted of or plead guilty to certain driving offenses in New Jersey, or accumulate six Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) [formerly known as the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)] points in a period of three years or less, you will be required to pay DMV/MVC surcharges. The surcharges range from $100 for driving without a license to $1000 a year for three years for a DUI surcharges. Surcharges, under the New Jersey Merit Rating Program, are designed to pay for auto insurance for those who can not afford it and alcohol rehabilitation programs for drunk drivers.
It is important to defend yourself against any traffic violation to avoid paying DMV surcharges in addition to other fines and penalties. If you have been arrested for a traffic violation, contact a traffic attorney for a free consultation.
Once you have been found guilty of speeding, driving without a license, or any other traffic offense, and have accumulated points that result in surcharges, even Motor Vehicle Services (MVC) cannot remove the surcharge. If you fail to pay the MVC surcharge, you face suspension of your license and the debt will be turned over for collection. Bills for these surcharges are printed on State of New Jersey Automobile Insurance Surcharge and Collections (NJ-AISC) letterhead and are not related to the insurance surcharges you may have to pay to your auto insurance company.
Traffic offenses for which MVC/DMV surcharges are assessed, or MVC points are accumulated:
- Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
- Driving with a suspended license
- Driving without insurance
- Driving without a license
- Possession of drugs in a motor vehicle
- Reckless driving, speeding, careless driving
- Failure to report an accident, leaving the scene of an accident
- Failure to stop at a red light or stop sign
If you have been charged with a serious traffic offense that may result in DMV surcharges or an accumulation of New Jersey DMV points, you can only make a well-informed decision about how to proceed after discussing your case with an attorney with the appropriate experience. If you would like to discuss defense of a traffic offense with a lawyer from our firm, call 1-877-450-8301 or e-mail our Shrewsbury office to arrange a free consultation.
The Law Offices of John F. Marshall
Monmouth County Lawyers