Failure to Register Megan’s Law Atlantic County
Megan’s Law requires persons who have been convicted of certain sexual offenses to register with their local police and notify their community. Megan’s Law is actually a group of statutes that were passed through the New Jersey legislature in 1994 in response to the rape and murder of a child by a person who had been previously convicted of sex offenses. Failure to register as required is an indictable offense (the New Jersey equivalent of a Felony) and can be punishable by up to 5 years in prison. If you or a person you love has been convicted of a sex-based crime, you shouldn’t risk violating Megan’s Law.
Who is Required to Register in Atlantic County, NJ?
Any person who has been convicted, adjudicated delinquent (for juveniles), or found not guilty by reason of insanity for commission of any of the following crimes:
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact
- Kidnapping (if the victim is less than 16 years old and a sex offense was committed or attempted to be committed against them)
- Endangering the Welfare of a Child
- False Imprisonment (if the Victim is a child and the offender is not their parent)
- An attempt to commit any of the aforementioned crimes IF the court found that the offender’s conduct was a pattern of repetitive and compulsive behavior
How Soon Must an Atlantic County Offender Register?
An offender who is on probation, parole, or other type of community supervision is required to register at the time the person is placed under supervision with the Department of Corrections, the Juvenile Justice Commission, the Department of Human Services, or the Administrative Office of the Courts, whichever agency is responsible for the supervision.
An offender incarcerated in a correctional or juvenile facility or who was involuntarily committed is required to register prior to release with the Department of Corrections, Juvenile Justice Commission, or the Department of Human Services and with the Chief Law Enforcement Officer of the municipality where the offender resides within 48 hours of release.
An offender moving or returning to New Jersey must register with the Chief Law Enforcement Officer of the municipality where they will be residing within 10 days of first residing in or returning to a municipality of this state.
An offender who is required to register in another jurisdiction, and who is a part-time or full-time student at any educational institution in New Jersey must register with the Chief Law Enforcement Officer in the educational institution’s municipality and the law enforcement unit of the educational institution (if one exists) within 10 days of beginning attendance.
An offender who is employed in New Jersey, full-time or part-time, with or without compensation, must register within 10 days of commencing such employment if the person works in New Jersey for 14 days straight or for more than 30 days in a year.
An offender who changes his/her address within New Jersey must notify the law enforcement agency with which they are currently registered and the Chief Law Enforcement Officer of the municipality of the new address at least 10 days before first residing at the new address.
What is Failure to Register under Megan’s Law?
Failing to register as required under Megan’s Law is a crime of the third degree, punishable by up to five (5) years in a New Jersey State Penitentiary.
Megan’s Law and the Internet?
Any offender who is required to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law must provide the appropriate law enforcement agency with information about whether that offender has access to any computer or device capable of accessing the internet. Failing to provide the appropriate information about access to computers and other internet-ready devices, or failing to keep that information updated or providing false information is a crime of the fourth degree punishable by up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.