Jenna McKinney, 31, of Mount Holly, was arrested for Driving While Intoxicated after she was involved in a car accident on the morning of Thursday, May 14. McKinney could potentially face serious penalties under New Jersey law for the driving while intoxicated charges if she is convicted or pleads guilty to this offense. N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 dictates potential minimum penalties including driver’s license suspension for a time period of at least a 3 months, over $700 in fines and fees, and insurance surcharges of $1,000 per year for three years after conviction. The offense of DWI in New Jersey also carries potential jail time of up to 30 days.
Mount Laurel NJ DWI Penalties
New Jersey law imposes increased penalties for the offense of driving while intoxicated with blood alcohol levels exceeding certain standards set by law, so penalties will be escalated if McKinney’s blood alcohol level at the time of the accident is found to exceed the applicable thresholds for escalated penalties. If McKinney’s blood alcohol content is alleged to be over .1, potential penalties then increase to a driver’s license suspension of 7 months to 1 year, over $800 in fines and fees, a $1,000 insurance surcharge per year for three years, and potentially up to 30 days in prison. Under these circumstances, an ignition interlock device would also be required during the license suspension and for 6 months to 1 year following restoration of a driver’s license.
Multiple DWI Offenses in New Jersey
Additionally, New Jersey law also increases penalties for the offense of driving while intoxicated with each subsequent offense. Therefore, if McKinney has been found guilty in Mount Laurel NJ Municipal Court of another DWI conviction within the past 10 years, potential penalties will escalate to a driver’s license suspension of 2 years, an ignition interlock requirement during license suspension and for 1 to 3 years following restoration of her license, over $1,000 in fines and fees, a $1,000 insurance surcharge per year for three years, and 2 to 90 days in prison. For a third offense within the past 10 years, penalties would rise to a driver’s license suspension of 10 years, an ignition interlock requirement during license suspension and for 1 to 3 years following license restoration, over $1,500 in fines and fees, a $1,500 insurance surcharge per year for three years, and 180 days in prison.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a drunk driving offense contact our firm for a free consultation.