Weehawken NJ Robbery Attorneys
The offense of robbery is a very serious offense in New Jersey. If convicted, a defendant could be sentenced up to twenty (20) years in a state prison and fined up to $200,000. This offense is also subject to the No Early Release Act, which requires a defendant to serve at least 85% of their sentence before they could become eligible for parole. The Law Office of Jonathan F. Marshall has eight criminal defense attorneys on staff, making our office one of the largest criminal defense firms in the State let alone Hudson County. If you or a loved one has been charged with the offense of robbery in Hudson County, in towns like Jersey City, Harrison, Kearny, North Bergen, West New York or Union City and would like more information, including what the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt and applicable penalties, please check out our robbery page by clicking here. If you have any further questions, please contact our Hudson County office directly at (201) 309-1800.
Weehawken Police charge Ex-con with Burglary & Robbery
A Jersey City resident has been arrested and charged with robbery and burglary, stemming from an incident that occurred in Weehawken, New Jersey on August 4, 2014. It is alleged that the defendant, a forty-two year old ex con, entered the victim’s home and began rummaging through her belongings looking for valuables. Apparently, the defendant was able to locate a checkbook and several credit cards. However, before the defendant was able to leave, the victim discovered his presence and while fleeing the home, the defendant pushed the victim to the floor. Until the defendant pushed the victim to the floor, he had only committed the offenses of burglary and theft (Both 3rd degree felonies). It wasn’t until the defendant pushed the victim in the course of committing the theft, that he committed the offense of robbery, which is second degree felony and also subject to the No Early Release Act mentioned above.
The defendant made his first appearance at the Central Judicial Processing, via video link and bail was set at $75,000 cash or bond. The defendant has formally been charged with burglary in the third degree and robbery in the second degree. If convicted, the defendant could face up to fifteen years in a New Jersey State Prison. Furthermore, according to the prosecution, the defendant has prior convictions for burglary, theft, drug possession and trespassing. If you or someone you know has been charged with a criminal offense in Hudson County and would like a free initial consultation with an experienced Hudson County robbery defense lawyer, please contact us directly at (201) 309-1800.