Weehawken NJ School Zone DWI Lawyers
A DWI in Hudson County, New Jersey, already carries a substantial number of penalties. However, these penalties may actually be enhanced under certain circumstances. One of the most common examples of these “penalty enhancing circumstances” is when an individual, who is under the influence of drugs or alcohol, drives his or her vehicle within 1,000 feet of school property. With 13 school districts and over 120 school buildings, school zones in Hudson County are practically around every corner. Whether you are pulled over within school property range or merely observed driving through a school area, you will be subject to increased fines, license suspension, community service and even jail. Even scarier for defendants facing a DWI charge, is that these “school zone areas” apply to school crossings as well. Even where a school zone crossing has not been officially designated by local law, a defendant may still be subject to enhanced punishment for driving under the influence if it can be shown that he or she knew that Hudson County school system students were present near the crossing at the time of the offense.
At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our team of criminal defense lawyers understand the intricacies of DWI laws in New Jersey and how the Hudson County Municipal Courts apply those laws. Our office has been defending individual’s charged with dwi, dui in a school zone, refusal to submit to a breath test and assault by auto, in towns like Weehawken, Guttenberg, Jersey City, Union City, Hoboken, Harrison and North Bergen for over fifteen years. We will look over the facts of your case and assess the strengths and weaknesses to determine how we can obtain best outcome for you or your loved one. Contact our Hudson County Office for your free initial consultation today at (201) 309-1800. Let us help get you back on your feet.
What is a School Zone DWI in Jersey City, New Jersey?
The definition of a school zone DWI can be found under the statute N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a). In a prosecution for a school zone case, the State will attempt to prove that the driving under the influence offense occurred within 1,000 feet of an elementary or secondary school. The actual distance that the defendant was from the school can be proved by the use of a map depicting the location and boundaries of the area on or within 1,000 feet of the schoolhouse or other school property. This is often times a vital piece of evidence in your case.
Conversely, in a prosecution for a DWI within a school crossing, the Prosecutor will look to demonstrate that a school crossing, as defined in N.J.S.A. 39:1-1, was crossed by the defendant while they were operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Proof of the designation of such a crossing may be made simply by presenting a certified copy of the resolution or ordinance designating the school crossing as such.
Beyond a school zone or designated school crossing, penalties will also be enhanced if the Prosecutor can prove that the defendant drove through a non-designated school crossing while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or greater. There will be additional proofs required, in order to trigger enhanced punishment under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(g)(3). A non-designated crossing is a school crossing which has not been so designated by a municipal ordinance or resolution. When this is the case, the State must present proof that the defendant drove through the school crossing in violation of the driving under the influence statute, knowing that juveniles were present at the time. Note that the statute does not specifically protect only students near the school crossing, but rather any juvenile.
What are the Enhanced Penalties for a School Zone DWI in Union City, NJ?
In Hudson County, an individual convicted of a DWI in a school zone or crossing will face penalties twice the amount of those for a DWI not within a school zone or crossing. These doubled penalties are generally consistent for the first, second, third and subsequent offenses.
- For a first offense, a defendant convicted of a DWI in a school zone or school crossing will face a fine ranging from $606.00 to $1,006.00, a mandatory jail sentence of not more than sixty (60) days. Additionally, the defendant must suffer a loss of driving privileges for a term of between one (1) and two (2) years.
- For a second offense, the enhanced sanctions require a fine between $1,006.00 and $2,006.00, a mandatory sixty (60) days, or 360 hours, of community service, a minimum mandatory jail sentence between ninety-six (96) hours and 180 days. Lastly, there is a period of license suspension is for a minimum of four (4) years.
- For a third or subsequent offense, there is a fine of $2,006.00, a mandatory 180 day jail sentence, and a mandatory twenty (20) year suspension of driving privileges, which begins upon completion of any prison sentence imposed on the defendant.
Hoboken NJ DWI in a School Zone Lawyer
For your free initial consultation, contact our Hudson County office and speak with a licensed attorney about your DWI. As stated above, the Law Office of Jonathan F. Marshall is an experienced NJ DWI defense firm. Our office posses some unique qualifications when it comes to defending driving while intoxicated charges in New Jersey. If you or someone you know has been charged with a dui, refusing to submit to a breath test, reckless driving, assault by auto, driving while suspended or aggravated assault in Hudson County, the Law Office of Jonathan F. Marshall can help. For a free initial consultation, please contact our Jersey City office directly at (201) 309-1800. Our attorneys are available 24/7 to answer any questions you might have.