Asbury Park NJ Criminal Lawyer
The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall represent clients charged with underage possession of alcohol, providing alcohol to minors, and possession of a fake ID throughout New Jersey including in Manasquan, Belmar, Point Pleasant, and Seaside Heights. Our criminal defense lawyers have over 100 years of combined experience and have previously served as county prosecutors and municipal prosecutors in Monmouth and Ocean County. As a result, our attorneys know the judges, prosecutors, and the system extremely well and will develop a comprehensive strategy to defend you against these criminal charges. Contact our offices anytime for a free initial consultation at (732) 450-8300.
Providing Alcohol to Minors: N.J.S. 2C:33-17
In New Jersey, providing alcohol to minors under the legal age to drink (21) is a criminal offense under N.J.S. 2C:33-17 which provides in pertinent part:
§ 2C:33-17. Availability of alcoholic beverages to under aged, offenses
a. Anyone who purposely or knowingly offers or serves or makes available an alcoholic beverage to a person under the legal age for consuming alcoholic beverages or entices or encourages that person to drink an alcoholic beverage is a disorderly person.
This subsection shall not apply to a parent or guardian of the person under legal age for consuming alcoholic beverages if the parent or guardian is of the legal age to consume alcoholic beverages or to a religious observance, ceremony or rite. This subsection shall also not apply to any person in his home who is of the legal age to consume alcoholic beverages who offers or serves or makes available an alcoholic beverage to a person under the legal age for consuming alcoholic beverages or entices that person to drink an alcoholic beverage in the presence of and with the permission of the parent or guardian of the person under the legal age for consuming alcoholic beverages if the parent or guardian is of the legal age to consume alcoholic beverages.
b. A person who makes real property owned, leased or managed by him available to, or leaves that property in the care of, another person with the purpose that alcoholic beverages will be made available for consumption by, or will be consumed by, persons who are under the legal age for consuming alcoholic beverages is guilty of a disorderly persons offense.
Manasquan NJ Underage Drinking Criminal Lawyer
As the above statute details, an adult who provides alcohol to a minor, under age twenty-one (21), is guilty of a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey. This can include purchasing alcohol for a minor or providing alcohol to a minor in the home or at a party. A disorderly persons offense is a criminal offense in New Jersey which includes up to six (6) months in the county jail, up to a $1,000.00 fine, and a permanent criminal charge on your record (subject to expungement after five (5) years in certain circumstances).
If you or a loved one has been charged with providing alcohol to minors or underage drinking in New Jersey, the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall can help. Contact our office for immediate assistance at (732) 450-8300. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.