The term “harassment” is liberally applied in everyday conversations, as issues such as bullying, sexual harassment, gender, and racial discrimination have become prominent features of our national discourse. As a result, factors including the gender, age, ethnicity, and occupation of the alleged victim may become relevant when determining whether a communication is severe enough to warrant criminal charges for harassment. Although discussions of harassment may seem commonplace, behavior that legally constitutes harassment must meet specific and far more rigorous requirements. Common forms of communication, such as email, text, and social media messages have become increasingly significant as it relates to harassment allegations, and are often used to support charges of this kind. In addition, harassment charges often arise in the context of domestic violence, as former spouses or romantic partners levy these accusations once their relationship has been dissolved.
When you are accused of harassment, the State must provide evidence to establish that you purposefully communicated with the alleged victim with the intention of harassing them. At The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our highly experienced defense attorneys employ a myriad of strategies to successfully combat this assertion. With over 100 years of combined experience and a team of former prosecutors and defense lawyers, we work to identify weaknesses in the State’s argument, leveraging our expertise to achieve the best possible outcome. To discuss the circumstances of your case with one of our skilled legal professionals, contact The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall today. You are just a phone call away from the protection you need to overcome the charges against you.
Harassment Charges in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4
According to section N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4 of the New Jersey Criminal Code, a person is guilty of harassment if he or she:
- Makes, or causes to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively coarse language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm;
- Subjects another to striking, kicking, shoving, or other offensive touching, or threatens to do so; or
- Engages in any other course of alarming conduct or of repeatedly committed acts with purpose to alarm or seriously annoy such other person.
Contact our Lebanon NJ Harassment Lawyers to Discuss Your Case
Typically, a charge for harassment is classified as a petty disorderly persons offense, which is punishable by a sentence to serve up to 90 days in the county jail, in addition to a fine of up to $500. On the other hand, if a harassment offense is committed by an individual who is currently on probation or parole for an indictable crime, then the harassment charge becomes a fourth degree felony, punishable by a term of incarceration of up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison. Further, if you are accused of harassment in the context of a domestic violence case, you may also be faced with a restraining order, which can spell a host of collateral consequences. Fortunately, you do not have to face these allegations alone. Contact The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall to find a legal advocate who is unwavering in their commitment to defending you.