Mullica NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident Attorneys
New Jersey law treats leaving an accident scene as a very serious offense, even if the driver is completely unaware that they have caused an accident. Leaving the scene of an accident, which is classified as a motor vehicles violation, can subject you to penalties including a driver’s license suspension, the accumulation of DMV points on your license, and even a jail sentence. These harsh penalties can apply regardless of the nature of the accident – even when the accident forming the basis of the charges is so minor that a driver doesn’t even believe their automobile touched another vehicle. However, even though New Jersey law treats this offense very seriously, the right defense attorney can still negotiate with a prosecutor in order to reach a favorable outcome on your behalf. At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our powerful legal defense team has the skill and experience needed to successfully navigate the legal system on your behalf in pursuit of such a favorable outcome. Our attorneys have years of experience defending clients accused of leaving the scene of an accident, and we often succeed in achieving a significant reduction in penalties or even getting the charges dismissed for our clients. Our attorneys handle cases in Hamilton, Somers Point, Egg Harbor City, Galloway Township, Margate City, and Atlantic City. If you are facing charges for driving uninsured in Atlantic County, please call us today at 1-877-450-8301 or e-mail us for your free consultation with our powerful legal defense team.
New Jersey Statute Prohibits Leaving the Scene of an Accident
N.J.S.A. § 39:4-129 makes it a serious traffic violation to leave the scene of an accident, and sets the following potential penalties:
For a first offense, if the accident causes damage only and does not result in any injury or death, you could be subject to a driver’s license suspension of 6 months, potential jail time of up to 30 days, and fines of $200-$400.
For a second or subsequent offense, if the accident causes damage only and does not result in any injury or death, you could be subject to a driver’s license suspension of one year, potential jail time of 30 – 90 days, and fines of $400-$600.
If the accident causes personal injury or death, penalties can increase exponentially, and you could be facing a driver’s license suspension of one year, potential jail time of 180 days, and fines of $2,500-$5,000. Additionally, for a second offense causing personal injury or death, penalties also include permanent loss of your driver’s license.
The potential penalties for leaving the scene of an accident are harsh and very serious and can have debilitating effects on your life as well as current or potential employment. When it comes to drivers’ license suspensions in Absecon, Brigantine, Buena Vista, or Pleasantville no exceptions are made – even for hardships, commuting to work, or other crucial elements of your life that require you to drive. If you are found driving in New Jersey once your license is suspended, even for one of these reasons or otherwise out of necessity, you will face further charges for driving while suspended, which can also result in similar harsh penalties. Since the circumstances of an accident can be at least as complicated as the legal landscape in this area of law, it is extremely important to work with a skilled and experienced defense attorney who can help guide you through the complexities of the law and expertly negotiate with county prosecutors on your behalf. At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our powerful and highly capable defense team is ready to put our years of experience and thorough knowledge of the law to work for you, and we are often able to get charges for leaving the scene of an accident reduced or even dismissed.
Atlantic City NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident Defense
If you are facing charges for leaving the scene of an accident in Atlantic County, please call us for a free consultation. Our skilled and knowledgeable attorneys will provide careful guidance to navigate the legal system with an approach tailored to your case, in order to help you reach the best possible outcome. Call us at 1-877-450-8301 or e-mail us to arrange your free consultation today.