In New Jersey, drivers’ licenses are often suspended for various reasons, including failure to pay surcharges, missing a court appearance, receiving DMV points on your driver’s license, or receiving a conviction for Driving While Intoxicated. If you are found driving in New Jersey while your license is suspended, you could be arrested and faced with potentially serious penalties such as significant fines, additional time with your driver’s license suspended, or even time in jail. New Jersey Courts generally treat driving while suspended as a serious offense, and prosecutors may seek penalties to the fullest extent of the law since this offense is considered to be so serious. At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our highly skilled and knowledgeable attorneys have years of experience handling driving while suspended offenses and are often able to achieve a reduction in penalties or even avoid harsh penalties like further license suspensions or jail time completely. We are ready to put our significant experience handling this type of matter in Atlantic City, Buena Vista, Egg Harbor Township, Galloway Township, Hamilton Township, and throughout Atlantic County to work for you. If you have been arrested or charged with driving while suspended or revoked in Atlantic County, please call us today at 1-877-450-8301 or e-mail us for your free consultation with our powerful legal defense team.
Driving With Suspended or Revoked License Law in NJ
N.J.S.A. § 39:3-40, makes driving while suspended a serious traffic violation, stating that:
No person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation, or prohibition.
No person whose motor vehicle registration has been revoked shall operate or permit the operation of such motor vehicle during the period of such revocation.
New Jersey Penalties for Driving With Suspended or Revoked License Law
Under N.J.S.A. § 39:3-40, harsh penalties can result if you are caught driving in New Jersey with a suspended license.
For a first offense, you could be facing an additional license suspension of up to 6 months and a $500 fine.
For a second offense, potential penalties increase to a mandatory 1-5 days of jail time, additional license suspension of up to 6 months, and a $750 fine.
For a third or subsequent offense, you could be subject to penalties of a mandatory 10 days in jail, additional license suspension of up to 6 months, and a $1,000 fine.
The potential penalties for driving while suspended or revoked can be harsh and serious. These penalties will be increased if your prior suspension resulted from DWI or DUI charges, including mandatory jail time for a first offense under those circumstances as well as a longer additional suspension. For any driving while suspended offense in Hammonton, Pleasantville, Brigantine, Northfield, or Somers Point, these harsh penalties will clearly have detrimental effects on your life, including potentially hindering your current employment or your ability to find new employment. Additionally, if you are convicted for driving while suspended, you will have a permanent blemish on your driver’s history abstract and will incur steep surcharges that must be paid to the DMV as a result of your conviction. Even if your license is suspended without your knowledge because of something like a forgotten parking ticket, harsh and unforgiving penalties still apply. Therefore, it is important to contact a skilled and experienced defense attorney who can aggressively advocate on your behalf in an effort to reduce or avoid these harsh penalties, whatever the circumstances of your case.
Egg Harbor Township NJ Driving While Suspended Attorneys
If you have been arrested or charged with driving while suspended or revoked in Atlantic County, please call us for a free consultation. Our powerful legal defense team will review your case and provide careful guidance on how best to navigate your case in order to reach the best possible outcome. Call us at 1-877-450-8301 or e-mail us to arrange your free consultation today.