Pleasantville NJ Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
Because our state is a highly populated area with a relatively high rate of automobile accidents, New Jersey’s statute prohibiting driving without insurance is extremely strict and can impose very harsh penalties for the offense of driving uninsured. New Jersey penalties for uninsured motorists can even exceed the penalties doled out for DWI, requiring a mandatory minimum driver’s license suspension of at least one year, without any exceptions allowed – even for hardships, commuting to work, or other crucial elements of your life that require you to drive. If you are found driving in New Jersey once your license is suspended, even for one of these reasons or otherwise out of necessity, you will face further charges for driving while suspended, which can also result in similar harsh penalties. Other possible penalties for driving uninsured can include community service requirements, surcharges payable to the DMV, and even jail time. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall and our team of experienced and knowledgeable attorneys can help minimize the impact of this serious offense on your life and livelihood. Our powerful team boasts years of experience defending driving without insurance charges, and we can frequently get the debilitating penalties for this offense reduced or even entirely avoid some of the potentially harsh penalties like license suspensions or jail time. Our attorneys handle cases in Galloway, Hammonton, Mullica, Egg Harbor City, Margate City and throughout Atlantic County. If you are facing charges for driving uninsured in Atlantic County, please call us today at 1-877-450-8301 or e-mail us for your free consultation with our powerful legal defense team.
NJ Driving Without Insurance Law and Penalties
N.J.S.A. § 39:6B-2 makes driving without insurance a serious traffic violation, even for drivers or vehicle owners who are unaware that the vehicle is not insured. In order to satisfy the statute’s requirements for adequate insurance, a vehicle on the roads of New Jersey must be covered by at least $15,000 insurance coverage for death or personal injury, at least $30,000 for multiple injuries or deaths, and at least $5,000 for property damage. The statute also dictates the following penalties for falling below these minimums:
For a first offense, you could be subject to a mandatory license suspension of one year, potential community service and/or jail time, and a $1,000 fine.
For a second or subsequent offense, you could be facing a license suspension of two years, 30 days of community service, a mandatory jail sentence of 14 days, a $5,000 fine, and a requirement that you must petition the DMV to have your license reinstated after your suspension.
The potential penalties for driving without insurance can be particularly harsh and unforgiving since New Jersey takes this type of offense very seriously. Many Courts in New Jersey will not even allow plea bargains for uninsured motorists. However, with a skilled and experienced attorney advocating on your behalf, it is often possible to have judges consider mitigating factors in your defense, taking into account the reason you were without insurance, the amount of time you remained uninsured, and whether you were provided with any notice of your lapsed or terminated insurance coverage. Therefore, it is important to contact a knowledgeable and experienced defense attorney who can aggressively advocate on your behalf to carefully navigate the legal landscape of this serious offense and negotiate the best possible outcome on your behalf. At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our skilled defense team is ready to put our years of experience and thorough knowledge of the law to work for you.
Hammonton NJ Uninsured Driver Lawyer
If you are facing charges for driving without insurance in Atlantic County, please call us for a free consultation. Our skilled and knowledgeable attorneys will provide sound guidance on how best to navigate your case and reach the most favorable outcome possible so that you do not have to face this legal battle and its potential harsh consequences alone. Call us at 1-877-450-8301 or e-mail us to arrange your free consultation today.