Licensing of New Jersey Commercial Drivers & Operators

Former NJ Traffic Prosecutors & Accomplished Defense Attorneys Who Are Highly Experienced In Defending CDL Holders

If you have a CDL and were charged with a motor vehicle traffic ticket or summons in New Jersey, you require representation by the best defense attorney you can find.A commercial driver’s license (“CDL”) holder has a gamut of ways in which to receive a summons or ticket in New Jersey. Failure to comply with the licensing requirement for operating a tractor trailer, dumb or cement truck, solid waste or other commercial vehicle is one such scenario. The NJ traffic offense lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are adept in helping truckers and other operators charged with violating regulations adopted by the NJ State Police consistent with Federal Law. If you are facing an offense of this nature, including operating a commercial vehicle without a valid license, we have decades of experience, including significant time serving as traffic prosecutors, to put into action so that you obtain the very best result in your case.  Call us anytime 24/7 at 877-450-8301 for initial consultation with an attorney on our team. A lawyer on our staff will be more than happy to give you the benefit of their time.

Commercial Driver’s Offense in New Jersey

The State Police are responsible for creating rules and regulations governing the operation of commercial vehicles. These requirements must be consistent with Federal Laws governing: (1) requirements for obtaining a commercial driver’s license; (2) driver qualifications and vehicle safety; and (3) transport of hazardous material. It is illegal to operate a commercial vehicle in New Jersey unless it is consistent with Federal Regulation. Members of the NJ State Police routinely issue summonses for violating any number of federal code sections.  The Transportation Safety Bureau employs five (5) units that are dedicated exclusively to enforcement of these regulations:

You can easily see how easy it can be cited with a violation given the amount of resources committed to commercial carrier enforcement in NJ. Hiring the right attorney to defend you can make a huge difference in avoiding significant penalties when a mishap occurs.

Penalties for Violating CDL Regulations in New Jersey

There are numerous penalty provisions that may apply under either NJ or Federal Law. N.J.S.A. 39:5B-29 is the general penalty provision which outlines escalating fines for repeat offenders as follows:

  • First Offense. A fine of at least $50 but not more than $5,000 may be imposed
  • Second Offense. The minimum fine is $100 and the maximum is $5,000.
  • Third or Subsequent Offense. A fine of between $250 and $25,000 may be levied.

When the violation stems from an equipment violation, the penalties are set forth separately under N.J.S.A. 39:3-43 through N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.

Commercial Vehicle Defense Attorneys in New Jersey

Its obviously crucial for someone holding a CDL to keep their privileges in good standing. Indeed, their livelihood is tied to their ability to operate a tractor trailer, dumb truck or other commercial vehicle. Hiring the right attorney to defend a traffic ticket or summons issued against a commercial license holder is therefore very important. The NJ defense lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have the skilled you need to secure the optimum result in your motor vehicle offense case. Call us at 877-450-8301 anytime 24/7 to get the answers and sound advice you need.