Former County Prosecutors & Gun Task Force Directors With Over 200 Years Of Experience Representing Clients On Handgun Charges
An individual exposes himself to a number of potential offenses when he takes possession of a handgun or pistol without proper legal authority under NJ law. Indeed, it is absolutely illegal in New Jersey to possess a revolver or pistol without a carry permit. Even where someone has a pistol permit or license, that does not authorize possession except during transport to and from a range. Violation of these restrictions renders possession total illegal and can result in criminal charges like unlawful possession of of a handgun, possession of a firearm for an unlawful purpose, certain person not to possess a weapon, possession of a weapon while committing a CDS offense or another violation. Hiring a skilled handgun defense lawyer is imperative whenever this occurs since those charged and convicted face stiff prison terms.
The defense team at our firm has exactly what you need in order to maintain your liberty. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall can offer you:
- Representation by a 10 lawyers whose practice is limited to defending those accused of violating the law and collectively possesses over 200 years of experience
- Former County Prosecutors that include Directors of the Gun Task, Trial Division, Major Crimes and other departments with significant exposure to handgun charges
- Certified criminal trial attorneys (less than 2% of those licensed in the state have earned this distinction by the NJ Supreme Court)
- National Rifle Association (“NRA”) members
- Hundreds of favorable outcomes achieved on behalf of clients arrested for handgun possession throughout New Jersey
If you have been charged with any form of handgun possession, we have a NJ criminal lawyer with the skill to thoroughly protect you. Every one of our attorneys is knowledgeable in handgun laws and would be happy to provide you with the information needed to make the right decision with your case. To speak to one of the lawyers at the firm anytime 24/7, call 1-877-450-8301.
Overview of New Jersey Handgun Law
It is illegal under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-5 for an individual to possess a handgun without a permit or license. A violation of 2C:39-5 is a Second Degree crime. An individual charged with this offense is exposed to 5 to 10 years in prison and additional stipulations under the Graves Act concerning parole ineligibility. If the possession of a pistol is for the purpose of committing a crime against person or property, then a separate charge under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-4 applies. This is commonly referred to as Possession of a Firearm for an Unlawful Purpose. This is also a crime of the Second Degree punishable by 5 to 10 years in jail. The Graves Act also applies to this handgun offense. Additionally, individuals in possession of a handgun are subject to N.J.S.A. 2C:39-7 which prohibits those convicted of certain felonies, domestic violence, or suffering from mental illness, from owning or possessing a gun. A violation of 2C:39-7, captioned Certain Persons Not to be in Possession of a Firearm, is also a Second Degree Crime.
Reach an Experienced NJ Handgun Possession Lawyer Now
The foregoing is a brief overview of the main handgun laws in NJ. The related offenses are discussed in more detail on the linked pages. If you require additional information or wish to speak to one of our attorneys, we are available for a complimentary consultation. Our lawyers are always happy to assist those charged with handgun violations. An attorney is available now at 1-877-450-8301.