Jump to Navigation

Fines in New Jersey for Classes of Criminal Charges

Fines for Criminal Offenses

If you are exposed to a criminal fine, your best chance of avoiding them is representation by the best attorney you can find. Our firm, the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, is highly experienced in defending all types of criminal charges in NJ. In fact, fines resulting from a conviction for a criminal offense are often avoided altogether as a result of the efforts of the lawyers on our team. Our former prosecutors and defense attorneys are ready to put their over 100 years of collective experience to work for you so that a fine is not imposed against you. If you have questions or require representation for an offense in Monmouth County, Union County, Ocean County, Middlesex County, Passaic County, Morris County, Hudson County, Essex County, Bergen County, or elsewhere in New Jersey, an attorney is ready to assist you at 1-877-450-8301. We hope the information regarding Fines and Assessments is assistance to you and please do not hesitate to contact us if you require more information.

Criminal Charges: Amount of Fine

The amount of monetary fines provided for under New Jersey law are predicated on the Grade of Offense to which an individual is sentenced. The maximum amount that may be levied grows with severity of a charge.

Indictable Charges

The monetary limits for First Degree, Second Degree, Third Degree and Fourth Degree offenses set forth under N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3 are as follows:

  • $200,000.00 for a Crime of the First Degree;
  • $150,000.00 for a Second Degree;
  • $15,000.00 upon conviction for a Third Degree crime, except Drug Offenses which carry a maximum of $35,000.
  • $10,000.00 for a Fourth Degree.

Disorderly Persons Offenses

N.J.S.A. 2C:43-3(c) and (d) authorize a court to impose a fine of up to $1,000 upon conviction for a Disorderly Persons Offense and $500 for a Petty Disorderly Persons Offense.

Other Mandatory Assessments & Penalties

Whenever an individual is convicted of a crime or disorderly persons offense, they are subject to a Victim of Crime Compensation Board ("VCCA" or "VCCB") assessment in the amount of $100 and a Safe Neighborhood Service Fund Assessment of $75. Where the conviction involves Drug Possession, Distribution of Drugs, or a Paraphernalia Charge, a Drug Enforcement & Demand Reduction Penalty ("DEDR") is mandatory. This assessment escalates depending on the severity of the related drug charge, with $500 levied for a Disorderly Persons Offense, $750 for a Fourth Degree Crime, $1,000 for a Third Degree Crime, $2,000 for a Second Degree Crime and $3,000 for a First Degree Crime. This penalty does not apply to a conviction for conspiracy to possess or distribute controlled dangerous substances ("CDS").

An attorney at our law office is available 24/7 for a free initial consultation. Reach a lawyer now at 1-877-450-8301 to discuss your case in Bergen County, Passaic County, Morris County, Monmouth County, Ocean County, Middlsex County, Hudson County or Essex County.

Follow John on twitter @jabalaw

The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall represent New Jersey adult and juvenile clients from offices in Shrewsbury, Cranford, Toms River, Jersey City and New Brunswick. We provide prompt and convenient client service to people in such communities as Newark, Plainfield, Freehold, Eatontown, East Brunswick, Edison, Woodbridge, Westfield, Clark, Rahway, Piscataway, Sayreville, Elizabeth, Middletown, Asbury Park, Long Branch, Jackson, Lakewood, Point Pleasant, Edison, Old Bridge, Aberdeen, Linden, Belmar, Eatontown, Hazlet, Holmdel, Ocean, Sea Bright, Hoboken, Weehawken, Seaside Park, Seaside Heights, Tinton Falls, Wall, Brick, Dover, Jackson, and other locations in Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Union County, Ocean County, Burlington County, Mercer County, Essex County, Hudson County and Morris County.

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.