New Jersey Criminal Charges
Under New Jersey law, criminal charges are classified by degree, rather than as felony or misdemeanor crimes, and certain offenses carry mandatory penalties. At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our criminal defense attorneys are committed to protecting the rights of our clients throughout New Jersey including Monmouth County, Middlesex County, Ocean County, Union County, Somerset County, Hudson County, Mercer County and Essex County.
Our first defense strategy: Seeing you are charged at the lowest level possible
Our lawyers will work to have you charged at the lowest level possible. If the prosecution has an offer that would be favorable, our attorneys may recommend you accept a plea bargain. If the State does not have the evidence to support the criminal charges levied against you, the attorneys will provide aggressive advocacy at trial. They will demonstrate to the jury that you must be found not guilty.
Sentencing and degree of criminal charges in New Jersey
First-degree criminal offenses:
If found guilty of a 1st-degree offense such as murder, aggravated sexual assault, or drug distribution (large quantities), you will be sentenced to 10 to 20 years in prison.
Second-degree criminal offenses:
If convicted of robbery without a weapon, certain sexual assaults, aggravated assault, distribution of smaller quantities of drugs, or another 2nd-degree crime, you will be sentenced to 5 to 10 years in prison.
Third-degree criminal offenses:
If found guilty of possession of cocaine, ecstasy, or heroin, possession of a handgun, certain thefts, aggravated assault, or another third-degree crime, you may be sentenced to serve up to 5 years in prison.
Fourth-degree criminal offenses:
I found guilty of unauthorized use of a vehicle, some charges involving assault and threat crimes or possession of marijuana, criminal sexual contact, or another 4th-degree crime, you may be sentenced to serve up to 18 months in prison.
Municipal/Disorderly Persons Offenses:
In New Jersey lesser offenses are heard by the Municipal Court in the township, city, or municipality where the offense allegedly took place. If convicted of possession of marijuana, shoplifting, simple assault, harassment, or disorderly conduct you may be sentenced to up to 6 months in jail.
For related information see:
If you have been arrested or charged with any type of theft crime, exercise your right to remain silent. Call toll free 1-877-450-8301 or e-mail our New Jersey law firm to arrange a free consultation with a criminal defense lawyer. Our attorneys will address your concerns and insure that your interests are protected in your Monmouth County, Somerset County, Union County, Middlesex County, Ocean County, Mercer County, Essex County or Hudson County case.
The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall
Servicios del intérprete disponibles – Spanish translation services available.