Although the offense of driving while intoxicated is technically considered a traffic offense in New Jersey, the penalties if convicted can be devastating. If you have been arrested and charged with DWI or DUI in Bayonne, NJ it is imperative that you seek the assistance of an experienced Hudson County DWI defense attorney. If convicted, provided it is your first offense, the Judge may suspend your license up to 12 months, fine you up to $800 and potential send you to the Hudson County Jail for up to 30 days. For more information on the offense of driving under the influence in Bayonne, please checkout our Hudson County, NJ DWI practice series by clicking here. Furthermore, if you would like to discuss your options with any one of our eight Bayonne, New Jersey DWI defense lawyers please contact our Jersey City office directly at (201) 309-1800. Our attorneys are available 24/7 to answer any questions that you might have and our initial consultations are always free. Now here is an article about a Defendant who has been charged with among other things, driving while intoxicated in Bayonne, New Jersey.
Driver who Flips Car on Bayonne Bridge is Charged with DUI
According to the reports, the Bayonne police responded to a single car motor vehicle accident that occurred on the Bayonne Bridge. When the officers arrived on scene they noticed the Defendant crawling outside of his car. When they approached him, they noticed that his speech was slurred and that he had an overwhelming smell of liquor coming from his persons. It is unclear whether or not the Defendant was asked to do any field sobriety tests or whether medical assistance was needed but he was placed under arrest and formally charged with driving while intoxicated. His car was impounded as a result of the issuance of the charges as well. If you or someone you know has been arrested and charged with DUI in Bayonne or elsewhere in Hudson County, the Law Office of Jonathan F. Marshall can help. Our office has over 100 years of combined experience on staff, including over twenty-five years of prior prosecuting experience. If you would like to set up a free initial consultation with any one of our eight Hudson County DWI lawyers, please contact our Jersey City office at (201) 309-1800.