DWI Is A Costly Offense
Most people who are charged with DWI expect that there will be costs. At the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, we hear questions all the time from clients about what fines and other fees could result from a conviction. As a law firm with experienced, knowledgeable attorneys, we have answers to questions about New Jersey DUI penalties. Along with answers, we provide an aggressive defense aimed at reducing or eliminating fines and other penalties from a DWI conviction.
NJ DWI Fines and Penalties
In addition to the prospect of jail time, a driver’s license suspension and other penalties, you will likely be fined by the court if you are convicted of DWI. The amount will depend in part on whether the DWI is your first or a subsequent offense:
- For a first offense, you may be fined between $250 and $400.
- For a second offense, you may be fined between $500 and $1,000.
- For a third or subsequent offense, you may be fined $1,000.
If you are convicted, fines are just part of the total cost to you. You should also expect the consequences of your DWI to include court costs and fees, a surcharge to the New Jersey Motor Division of Motor Vehicles and other expenses.
Contact The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall
When you come to the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, we will work to reduce the consequences of your DWI, including potential fines. We are the largest and most credentialed team of DWI lawyers in New Jersey. We are trained in field sobriety tests and certified in breath tests. We have attorneys who are former prosecutors in 25 New Jersey municipalities. Combined, we have more than 100 years of experience in criminal law and DWI work.
If you’re ready for a defense from a team like this, schedule a free initial consultation to learn more. Reach us online or at 877-450-8301.