On Monday, June 22, a 20-year-old woman from Linwood, was charged with possession of a Controlled Dangerous Substance and hindering apprehension after officers arrested her in Galloway Township. Although it is unclear from reports what drug or drugs Rivera is being accused of having in her possession, she will be facing potentially harsh consequences regardless of the type of drug in question. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10, New Jersey law prohibits the possession of many different controlled substances, including marijuana, cocaine, heroin, hallucinogens, a wide variety of prescription drugs, and many other substances that are classified as controlled dangerous substances.
Consequences will be among the most harsh if she is facing allegations that she had heroin or cocaine in her possession. Classified as a third-degree crime, possession of even a small amount of heroin or cocaine can result in penalties that include up to 5 years in jail, fines of up to $35,000, and a mandatory 6 month driver’s license suspension. These penalties escalate even further if the amount of heroin or cocaine involved is alleged to be more than one half ounce, which makes the crime second-degree offense with potential penalties increased to up to 5-10 years of potential jail time. For possession of five ounces or more of these substances, the offense is further elevated to a first-degree crime, increasing penalties to a staggering 10-20 years of jail time and fines of up to $500,000.
Galloway NJ CDS Charges
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-2, if she is accused of having marijuana in her possession, penalties will be less severe but remain life-altering. For amounts of marijuana exceeding 50 grams, this offense becomes a felony, carrying penalties of up to 18 months in jail and a $25,000 fine. If a lesser amount of marijuana is at issue, the offense would be classified as a disorderly persons offense carrying penalties of up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10 also dictates harsh penalties for possession of prescription drugs without a prescription, carrying penalties such as fines of up to $15,000 or even $35,000, depending on the drug, as well as possible probation or jail time of up to five years. Other controlled dangerous substances similarly carry severe potential penalties under New Jersey law.
If you or a loved one are facing drug related criminal charges, contact our office today for a free consultation to find out how we can help you reach the most favorable legal outcome.