Nothing can ruin your day like being stopped and issued a traffic ticket by the Bayonne Police, Port Authority Police or another member of law enforcement on patrol in the City of Bayonne. The irritation can be even greater for those who choose to simply plead guilty to a Bayonne traffic ticket before speaking to an experienced attorney. Not only does a guilty plea subject you to thousands of dollars in fines, administrative costs, surcharges and escalating insurance rates but can also results in a suspension of your driver’s license, community service or even confinement at the Hudson County Jail in more serious cases. Retaining a skilled traffic lawyer to fight your ticket or summons is your best chance to avoid the penalties and inconvenience associated with a motor vehicle offense.
The team of attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has precisely what is needed to avert a traffic ticket conviction in Bayonne Municipal Court. Our firm can offer you:
- 200 years of combined experience
- Ten (10) lawyers who specialize in defending individuals accused of violating the law including the motor vehicle code for driving while suspended, speeding, reckless driving, driving without insurance, DWI and leaving the scene of an accident
- Former municipal prosecutors who have served in more than 25 towns in the state
- Certified criminal trial attorneys
- A long and extensive history of dismissals and downgrades in Title 39 cases in Bayonne and other Hudson County locations
We’ve assembled a team of seasoned defense attorneys and former municipal and county prosecutors capable of providing innovative solutions and aggressive defense strategies no matter what traffic offense you are accused of committing. Before tossing in the towel and taking the easy way out by pleading guilty, call our Jersey City Office at 201-309-0500 to discuss your summons with one of our lawyers. An attorney who is highly experienced in defending traffic and motor vehicle tickets in Bayonne is available for free consultations 24/7.
Traffic Offense in Bayonne New Jersey
Whether you drive a passenger vehicle or a commercial truck, there are numerous laws you must obey or risk being pulled over by the police and issued a traffic ticket. Some of the most common New Jersey traffic law violations include the following:
Driving While Suspended or Revoked. Knowingly driving after your license has been suspended by the NJDMV or in accordance with court order results in a $500 fine and suspension of your license for another six months for a first offense. There is also a $250 surcharge imposed by the state for three years following your conviction. A second offense of driving while suspended carries a $750 fine, the possibility of a six month suspension and one to five days in jail. A third offense for driving while suspended results in a $1,000 fine and a ten day jail sentence.
Driving Without a License. It is illegal under N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 to operate a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license. A violation of this law results in a fine of up to $500, the possibility of imprisonment for up to 60 days and a license suspension of six months.
Driving Without Insurance. Failure to maintain automobile insurance is a very serious offense in Bayonne and anywhere else in New Jersey. There is a mandatory one year license suspension, fine of $300-$1,000 and community service for a first offense. A second offense of driving without insurance (or worse) results in a fourteen day jails sentence, fine of up to $5,000 and thirty days of community service.
Reckless Driving. An individual commits the offense of reckless driving in the City of Bayonne if they drive a vehicle in reckless disregard of the safety risk to others – heedlessly endangering others by their conduct. N.J.S.A. 39:4-96 contemplates a conscious disregard of a significant risk of injury to others.
Careless Driving. A violation of this law is akin to someone driving in a negligent manner. It requires operation in a manner that falls short of reasonable caution.
Speeding. A ticket or summons for speeding can have much more significant consequences than you might anticipate. One of the biggest issues involves accumulation of motor vehicle points, as well as the added insurance costs. Speeding 1-14 MPH over the speed limit results in 2 points. Speeding 15-30 MPH over the posted limit carries 4 points. Speeding 30 MPH or more results in 5 motor vehicle points. An accumulation of 12 or more points results in suspension of your license. There are also surcharges that are triggered once someone reaches at least 6 points on their driver’s license.
Driving While Intoxicated (“DWI”) or Under the Influence of Marijuana, Cocaine, Xanax or Other Drugs (“DUI”). Whether a DWI is based on alcohol or drugs, the operative statute is N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. You can learn more about this offense in Bayonne by referring to our Hudson County DWI charges page.
Possession of CDS in a Motor Vehicle. The most important thing you need to know about a 39:4-49.1 offense is that a conviction results in a mandatory driver’s license suspension of two years. Hiring a talented Bayonne traffic ticket lawyer is an absolute must when someone has been arrested/charged with this violation.
Improper Passing. A driver is required to pass to the left. When someone passes on the right or otherwise violate N.J.S.A. 39:4-85, they face four points on their license.
Some driving violations, such as reckless driving, obviously have the potential for result in jail time, as well as community service, license suspension and fines. New Jersey also has a point system to monitor driver safety. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is notified by the municipal court following a traffic violation conviction. The MVC assigns points to your driving record depending upon the type of traffic violation. Reckless driving is a five-point violation, failure to keep to the right is a two-point violation, and speeding can carry up to a five-points. New Jersey issues a suspension of a motorist’s license when they accumulates 12 or more points in a three-year period. You must pay a $150 surcharge if you have six points on your driving record. There is an additional $25 surcharge imposed for each point in excess of the first six.
Bayonne NJ Traffic Offense Defense Attorney
The Bayonne traffic ticket defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall understand the impact traffic violations can have on your life. The burden of being forced to pay substantial fines and surcharges to the court while your insurance company increases the premiums on your automobile insurance can strike a devastating financial blow to any hardworking individual.
Make a commitment to fight your traffic tickets by calling us now at 201-309-0500 to speak to a lawyer with the ability to ensure you avoid the negative impact of a Bayonne motor vehicle offense. An attorney on our team is available 24/7 to assist you and initial consultations are free. Contact us now to speak to one of our attorneys before you get yourself involved in a legal snowball that can end badly.