Asbury Park NJ Disorderly Conduct Lawyers

The criminal defense trial team at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall represent clients charged with disorderly conduct, marijuana possession, and simple assault throughout the Jersey Shore including in Belmar, Manasquan, Asbury Park, and Seaside Heights. Our criminal defense trial team is composed of former county prosecutors, former municipal prosecutors, and experienced criminal defense attorneys with over 100 years of combined legal experience. Further, one of our lawyers, Matthew Dorry, formerly served as a municipal prosecutor in over 25 municipalities in Monmouth and Ocean County. As a result, our lawyers are extremely familiar with the judges, the local prosecutors, and the system and will guide you through the criminal justice process. Contact our office anytime for a free initial consultation at (732) 450-8300.

New Jersey Disorderly Conduct Charges: N.J.S. 2C:33-2

A criminal charge for disorderly conduct in New Jersey is governed by N.J.S. 2C:33-2 which provides in pertinent part:

a. Improper behavior. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense, if with purpose to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof he

  1. Engages in fighting or threatening, or in violent or tumultuous behavior; or
  2. Creates a hazardous or physically dangerous condition by any act which serves no legitimate purpose of the actor.

b. Offensive language. A person is guilty of a petty disorderly persons offense if, in a public place, and with purpose to offend the sensibilities of a hearer or in reckless disregard of the probability of so doing, he addresses unreasonably loud and offensively coarse or abusive language, given the circumstances of the person present and the setting of the utterance, to any person present.

Disorderly Conduct: Belmar, Manasquan, Seaside Heights

Our criminal defense lawyers appear in courts throughout the Jersey Shore on a daily basis. Clients charged with disorderly conduct are facing up to thirty (30) days in the county jail, up to a $500.00 fine, and a permanent criminal charge on their record. As a result, it is imperative that you contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer to represent you. If we can’t get the charges dismissed altogether, we can typically negotiate a favorable plea agreement that results in a fine and no criminal charge on your record. Contact our office anytime for immediate assistance at (732) 450-8300. The initial consultation is always provided free of charge.