Robbery is sadly a common offense at the Somerville Courthouse despite having devastating consequences. Whether the charge involves allegations of being armed or use of physical force (a.k.a. strong-arm robbery), the penalties are devastating. If you were arrested for robbery in Hillsborough, North Plainfield, Flemington, Bridgewater, you therefore need to hire a knowledgeable defense attorney. The lawyers at The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, are thoroughly versed in the ins and outs of defending a robbery case and, more importantly, have the goods to secure a favorable result for you or your loved one. Having someone at your side like the members of our team could genuinely mean the difference between getting reduced charges or a dismissal or spending up to twenty years in jail. Call our Bridgewater or Somerville Office for a free consultation with a lawyer on our staff.
Robbery Charge in Somerset County or Hunterdon County
Robbery is set forth at N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1 of the New Jersey Criminal Code. This offense occurs if, during the course of a theft, someone: (1) inflicts bodily injury or uses force; (2) threatens with the purpose of putting someone in fear of immediate bodily injury; or (3) commits or threatens to immediately commit a crime of the first or second degree. The phrase “in the course of committing a theft” means during an attempt to commit a theft, commission of the offense, or in the immediate flight from the violation. An excellent example of how this statute works is where someone commits shoplifting and uses force to escape or avoid apprehension. The use of force transforms the charge into a robbery.
An armed robbery charge is a first degree crime, the most serious level of criminal offense set forth under New Jersey Law. A conviction for violating N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1 with a gun, knife, bat or other weapon carries ten to twenty years in state prison, as well as a fine of up to $200,000. Robbery is a second degree crime where, during the commission of a theft, the accused uses force, threats to use force, or commits or threatens to commit a first or second degree crime. Second degree robbery carries five to ten years of incarceration and a fine that can reach $150,000. What makes this charge even worse is that it falls under the No Early Release Act, commonly referred to as N.E.R.A. The result is that an individual must serve at least eight-five (85) percent of any jail term imposed before being eligible for parole. This means that, if a person is convicted of robbery and sentenced to ten years in prison, he/she will not even be considered for release until serving eight and one half years.
North Plainfield Robbery Defense Lawyer
We certainly understand that the stakes are extreme for you. Failure to mount an effective defense can be catastrophic to your future. The attorneys at our Somerset Criminal Firm are here to insure that you have every opportunity to avoid a life-altering outcome. More importantly, we have a long track history of successful outcomes fighting charges at the Somerset County Superior Court and elsewhere in the region. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall is prepared to do what is necessary to fully protect you. Call us anytime 24/7 for assistance with bail or any other issue with respect to a robbery offense.