Arrested for Possession of Fake or Counterfeit Controlled Dangerous Substance ("CDS")?
You may be shocked to learn that it is a felony offense in New Jersey to possess, attempt to possess, and/or distribute a substance that is believed to be some type of controlled dangerous substance. The thought behind the law is that someone should not be afforded consideration from prosecution for an Indictable Crime where it is their intention to purchase a Scheduled Drug or create the impression that they possess or have the ability to sell such a material. Given the penalties associated with possession of a fake or simulated drug, such a charge needs to be taken extremely serious. The lawyers at our firm, the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, can provide you with experienced guidance if you were arrested for a counterfeit drug offense. Our attorneys include several former prosecutors and a defense team with over 100 years of experience defending individuals throughout New Jersey. An attorney is available anytime 24/7 at 1-877-450-8301. We hope you find the following to be informative.
New Jersey Law & Penalties: Possession or Distribution of an Imitation Drug
The state has drafted a specific law that prohibits an individual from possessing or distributing any material that is purportedly an illegal drug. In this regard, N.J.S.A. 2C:35-11 makes it illegal for anyone to possess or distribute a substance that is not a controlled dangerous substance but which the person expressly or impliedly represents to be such a substance or under circumstances that would lead a reasonable person to believe that the substance is CDS. The law outlines three scenarios that constitute evidence of a violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:35-11:
- Packaging of a substance in a manner that would normally be used for the unlawful distribution of an illegal drug;
- The attempt or actual distribution of a simulated substance along with a demand for money or consideration; and
- Possessing or distributing a substance whose physical appearance is substantially the same as a form of controlled dangerous substance.
A violation of this section is a Third Degree Crime punishable by a term of imprisonment of up to five (5) years. The monetary penalty that may be imposed is up to $200,000 as opposed to the normal maximum for a Third Degree drug offense of $35,000. As with any CDS conviction, a six month to two year mandatory drivers license suspension is also applicable.
A complimentary initial consultation with one of our attorneys can be scheduled at any of our offices. You are also encouraged to contact a lawyer at the firm directly by telephone if you would like to speak to someone immediately.Monmouth County Office, 157 Broad Street, Red Bank, NJ Middlesex County Office, 75 Paterson Avenue, New Brunswick, NJ Union County Office, 123 North Union Avenue, Cranford, NJ Morris County Offices, 55 Madison Avenue, Morristown & 2001 Route 46, Parsippany, NJ Ocean County Office, 29 Hadley Avenue, Toms River, NJ Hudson County Officer, 580 Newark Avenue, Jersey City, NJ