Mullica NJ Simple Assault Charges

N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1 Attorney

Among some of the most commonly charges disorderly persons offense in Atlantic County is Simple Assault. These charges can occur in an alcohol-infused bar fight or a domestic dispute between spouses or couples. If you have been arrested and charged with Simple Assault under N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a), then you may also be facing a no contact order or a Temporary Restraining Order issued by the court. Essentially, any physical altercation that causes “bodily injury” will suffice as simple assault in New Jersey. However, if the injuries sustained in an altercation are particularly serious or your charges may later be enhanced to aggravated assault under subsection (b) of 2C:12-1. If you or someone you know were arrested and charged with Simple Assault, it is crucial that you speak with an Atlantic County Criminal Defense Attorney are soon as possible. These charges carry serious repercussions that could befall you if you do not properly prepare yourself in defending against Simple Assault, Harassment, and Threat charges. For an immediate consultation on the possible penalties you are facing and any defenses you may have available in your Simple Assault case, contact the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall. Our firm has a team of criminal defense attorneys, some of which are former municipal and county prosecutors, prepared to handle your case in Egg Harbor Township, Atlantic City, Galloway, Hammonton, Northfield, or Pleasantville. With over 100 years of cumulative legal experience, our team of legal trial attorneys have the experience and resources necessary to advocate on your behalf.  Contact our Atlantic County Office at (877)450-8301 today and speak with an experienced Atlantic County Criminal Lawyer.

Arrested For Simple Assault in Hammonton New Jersey

The pertinent statute for Simple Assault charges is N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(a). If you read this statute, you will see that there are basically three scenarios under which someone will be charged and convicted of Simple Assault. You will be arrested and charged with Simple Assault if you purposely or recklessly cause or attempt to cause bodily injury to another, or if you negligently cause bodily injury with a deadly weapon. The one thing that must be consistent amongst each of these scenarios is that the victim suffer some sort of “bodily injury”. A Simple Assault arrest may also occur if you attempt to put another in fear of serious injury by menacing them physically. A disorderly persons offense for simple assault can result in jail and other serious penalties. Specifically, a Simple Assault conviction carries up to six (6) months of Atlantic County Jail incarceration and a $1,000 fine. Of other significance is that fact that a conviction will leave you with a criminal record that could hurt your career opportunities later on in life.

Egg Harbor Simple Assault Attorney

It is understandable that you have a litany of questions regarding your arrest or your family members arrest. You may not be able to find all the answers you are looking for on the internet. Therefore, if you have any questions about how the criminal process works or what judge and prosecutor you will be appearing before, contact an attorney familiar with the court systems in Brigantine, Hamilton, Mullica, Egg Harbor City and Margate City. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall is a firm that specializes in Criminal Law and can answer any question you may have about your Simple Assault or Aggravated Assault case. Our attorneys and representatives are available 24/7 to discuss your charges with you and explain how best to mount a defense in your particular case. Contact our Atlantic County Office at (877)450-8301 today and receive your complimentary initial consultation today.