First Offense

Charged With A First Offense For Driving While Intoxicated (“DWI”) in Camden County

Best DWI defense lawyer near me for a first offense for dwi in Cherry Hill, Camden, Gloucester Township, Pennsauken, Gloucester City, Berlin, Bellmawr, Winslow or another Camden County municipality.The highest number of DWI charges written in Pennsauken, Gloucester Township, Cherry Hill, Camden, Gloucester City and other municipalities in Camden County involve a first offense.  Logic suggests that most individuals refrain from drinking and driving following being arrested and this is the reason why a much higher percentage of cases are a motorist’s first. If you were charged with a DWI offense, you absolutely need to be represented by an experienced attorney because even an initial offense results in a license suspension and thousands of dollars in financial consequences.

The attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have the specialized training and experience to achieve the very best result in your N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 case.  Our qualifications include:

  • Over 200 years of combined experience defending first offense cases throughout Camden County
  • A team of 10 attorneys who limit their practice to defending the accused
  • A DWI department head who is one of a handful of lawyers statewide who defend DWI charges exclusively
  • Former DWI prosecutors in more than 25 towns
  • 5 members who are certified on the Alcotest 7110
  • 2 members who are certified as instructors in Standardized Field Sobriety Testing.
  • Our own Draeger Alcotest breathalyzer to prepare your defense
  • Countless stories of success representing clients arrested for DWI and DUI

Credentials such as those possessed by our lawyers are extremely rare in New Jersey. The concentration of our practice in this area of law provides us with the skill needed to formulate the very best strategy so you avoid a conviction for a first offense in  a local municipal court like Berlin, Voorhees, Bellmawr, Stratford or Somerdale.

Contact the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall in Camden or Cherry Hill anytime 24/7 for a free initial consultation with one of our highly knowledgeable Camden County DWI Lawyers. An attorney is available now at (856) 288-3350.

New Jersey First Offense DWI Statute: N.J.S.A. 39:4-50

The NJ DWI law is contained at N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and makes it illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more, or while under the influence of a drugs. If the BAC at the time of operation is at least  0.08% but less than 0.10% and it is a first offense, the following penalties apply:

  • 3 month license suspension
  • Maximum 30 days in jail
  • Fine between $250 and $400
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for 12 to 48 hours
  • NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Surcharge of $1,000 for three years
  • Other mandatory fines
  • Mark on criminal record

If the defendant has a BAC of 10% or higher, or was under the influence of marijuana, heroin, cocaine, Xanax, Ambien or another drug, they face the following penalties for a first offense:

  • 7 months to 1 year license suspension
  • Maximum 30 days in jail
  • Fine between $300 and $500
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC
  • NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Surcharge of $1,000 for three years
  • Other mandatory fines
  • Mark on criminal record

An additional penalty applies where a first offense involves operation with a BAC of .15% or more:

  • Ignition interlock device for period of suspension and six months after suspension

Note: Our firm utilizes a former State trooper who is certified in field sobriety testing and is a certified operator of the Alcotest 7110, the breath testing device used in New Jersey DWI cases. He reviews the evidence, police reports, and videos and will draft a report to challenge the State’s evidence in your case.

Contact a Camden NJ DWI Lawyer for a Free Consultation

The criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are always available to speak with you about your case and begin to formulate an aggressive strategy to defend you against a DWI charge. Our criminal defense team understands the details of DWI law in New Jersey and we will use this knowledge to help you best defend against these charges. Call us today at (856) 288-3350 for a free initial consultation about your case.