Charges for possession of drug paraphernalia can originate in a multitude of circumstances and may or may not be accompanied by other charges for drug offenses, such as possession of marijuana, cocaine, heroin, or another controlled dangerous substance. Unbeknownst to many, you can actually be charged with a crime such as possession of marijuana if police discover even the slightest amount of residue in a grinder, pipe, bong, or another item considered drug paraphernalia. Essentially, if there is enough of a substance to test, you may be exposed to additional drug possession charges if the lab results indicate that the substance is, in fact, an illegal drug. Even in cases in which a single charge for possession of drug paraphernalia is issued, you may face penalties including a 6-month county jail sentence, a fine of up to $1,000, a 6-month suspension of your driving privileges, and a criminal charge on your record that hinders future employment and educational opportunities.
With an experienced lawyer on your side, these consequences are by no means definite. In fact, our attorneys at The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have helped thousands of clients avoid convictions and the penalties that may result in these cases. Through our work as both prosecutors and defense lawyers in New Jersey, we have accumulated a wealth of knowledge and insight, which serves to benefit our clients every day. Whether your case results in a dismissal through a successful motion to suppress or through your enrollment in a diversionary program such as conditional discharge, we have developed a host of strategies for effectively resolving these cases. To speak with a talented member of our legal team free of charge, contact our offices anytime. One of our attorneys is always standing by to immediately assist you.
New Jersey Charges for Possession of Drug Paraphernalia: N.J.S.A. 2C:36-2
Charges for possession of drug paraphernalia are outlined in section N.J.S.A. 2C:36-2 of the New Jersey Criminal Code, which provides:
It shall be unlawful for any person to use, or to possess with intent to use, drug paraphernalia to plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, conceal, ingest, inhale, or otherwise introduce into the human body a controlled dangerous substance, controlled substance analog or toxic chemical in violation of the provisions of chapter 35 of this title. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a disorderly persons offense.
According to New Jersey Law, any of the following articles may constitute drug paraphernalia:
- Rolling Papers
- Roach clips
Contact our Raritan NJ Drug Paraphernalia Possession Lawyers Today
As mentioned previously, the penalties associated with a conviction for possession of drug paraphernalia may include: a sentence to serve up to 6 months in the county jail, a fine of up to $1,000, a 6-month suspension of driving privileges, and a charge on your criminal record. Fortunately, there are a host of mechanisms for challenging the State’s case, including raising issues with the way in which the evidence was obtained or how the arrest was effected. Additionally, the conditional discharge program provides an attractive alternative to achieve the dismissal of the charges for those who meet eligibility requirements. For additional information, contact The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall 24/7. The answers to your questions are just a phone call away.