The Former County Prosecutors & Skilled Attorneys At Our Mount Holly Law Firm Have Over 200 Years Of Experience Defending Assault By Auto Charges
If you were the operator of a motor vehicle in Burlington County and got into an accident where injuries were sustained by another person, you may be charged with assault by auto if certain conditions are met. Those requirements are set forth in detail at N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(c), commonly referred to as the New Jersey Assault by Auto Law. For anyone convicted of driving recklessly, for example, while intoxicated (“DWI”) in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, assault by auto is a felony that results in severe penalties. Accordingly, whether your accident was the result of driving on U.S. Route 295, the New Jersey Turnpike, Route 130 or a more rural roadway, your case will likely be transferred to Mt. Holly NJ as that is the where the Superior Court having jurisdiction over second degree, third degree and fourth degree indictable crimes is located.
Unique Credentials To Ensure Success In Defending Your Aggravated Assault Offense
Our firm, the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, has handled countless assault by auto cases and features a team of former prosecutors who have considerable knowledge in defending N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1(c) charges. If you are looking for a powerhouse firm with over 200 years of combined experience to handle an offense arising in Mount Laurel, Pemberton, Bass River or another location in Burlington, we have the attorney to help you. The assault by auto lawyers at the firm, which include a former director of the trial division, major crimes and drugs task force, are prepared to go over all of the facts associated with your collision and to formulate a plan to assist you in reaching the best result in your case. Call us at 609-491-2110 for a free consultation over the telephone or to schedule an appointment at our office in Mount Holly.
Mt. Holly Assault By Auto Charge
As previously stated, the overwhelming majority of Burlington assault by auto cases will be heard in Mt. Holly as that is the location of the court having jurisdiction over second degree, third degree and fourth degree felony crimes. In order to convict you of violating 2C:12-1(c), the prosecutor will have to convince a Burlington County jury, beyond reasonable doubt, that you: (1) were the operator of a car, truck or other motor vehicle; (2) that you caused bodily injury to another person; and the (3) the injuries were the result of your driving recklessly. In order to establish reckless operation, the state will have to prove that you were aware of the risk associated with the way you were driving yet consciously disregarded that risk, a decision that represented a gross deviation from the standard that a reasonable person would have exercised. This element is firmly established if it can be established that you were guilty of DWI at the time of the accident.
The penalties you can face for an assault by auto accident in Cinnaminson, Burlington City, Mansfield, Evesham or elsewhere in Burlington, span a wide range. If the violation involved DWI in a School Zone where serious bodily injury was sustained, then you face the penalties of a second degree crime. This means 10-20 years in prison and fine of up to $150,000. Third degree assault by auto applies where serious bodily injury is sustained as a result of a DWI or DUI (e.g. driving under the influence of drugs) related accident. An individual can be sentenced to up to 5 years in jail and fined up to $15,000 for third degree assault by auto. Fourth degree assault by auto applies where serious bodily injury results from recklessness other than driving while intoxicated (e.g. racing, speeding, etc.). A fourth degree crime can result in 18 months in prison/jail and a $10,000 fine.
Bordentown Assault by Auto Attorneys
Traffic volume is a factor in the rate of assault by auto violations and Bordentown is certainly has some of the highest in Burlington. If you had an accident in Bordentown that resulted in your being charged with assault by auto, you need to take the allegations against you very seriously. Police and prosecutors rarely file this charge unless they view the actions of a motorist as so extreme as to necessitate the real possibility of a state prison sentence. You need top flight representation from an attorney that has experience handling assault by auto cases when you are targeted in this manner. Our firm can assist you in this role and offers 24/7 access to our lawyers. To discuss bail or other circumstances surrounding an accident, call our Mount Laurel office at 856-234-8900.
Related Legal Resources That May Be Of Interest To You
- Burlington County Aggravated Assault Charges
- Mount Holly Vehicular Homicide Defense Attorney
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Serious Personal Injury
Contact the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, 217 High Street, Suite 201, Mount Holly, NJ 08060, for further information regarding an assault by auto charge issued in Burlington County, including Evesham, Delran, Bordentown, Medford, Mt. Laurel, Moorestown, Burlington Township, Florence, Cinnaminson, Mansfield, Lumnberton, Maple Shade, Southampton, Pemberton, Willingboro, Riverside, North Hanover, Westampton, Palmyra, Riverside, Edgewater Park and municipality.