Mt. Laurel Marijuana Possession Attorneys
Charges and indictments involving marijuana are constantly being brought before the courts in Burlington County. Whether your case involves one (1) blunt, a pound or more, defending against marijuana charges is a difficult and dicey proposition for a non-attorney. If you have been charged with selling or distributing marijuana, then the stakes are even greater. No one should ever walk into court without competent counsel at the side if they are facing a drug charge in New Jersey. A conviction will result in penalties that are significant, even where the offense is possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana. There is a mandatory driver’s license suspension of 6-24 months on top of a criminal record, fines and even 6 months jail. The attorneys at our firm, The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, are proficient in keep our clients clear from consequences like these. Our record of success is not accidental as we are one of the largest criminal firms in the state with several former prosecutors on staff. The members of our defense team have defended in excess of a thousand marijuana cases along with related charges like possession of drug paraphernalia and possession of CDS in a motor vehicle. If you have been charged with marijuana possession in Maple Shade, Cinnaminson, Delran, Bordentown, Pemberton, Morrestown or another town in Burlington County, we can help you. For immediate assistance, call us at 856-234-8900 and a qualified attorney in our Mt. Laurel Office will assist you.
Possession of Marijuana Under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10
Often times, marijuana charges stem from a motor vehicle stop on roads like County Route 528, County Route 530, County Route 532, Interstate 295, or the New Jersey Turnpike. You may have been pulled over for rolling through a stop sign or speeding, but then found to be in possession of a joint or a blunt by the officer. Also, if you are with friends, then absent one of you taking ownership for the marijuana, you may all be charged with possession. When an arrest is made for marijuana possession, there are one of two charges that can arise:
- Possession of Less Than 50 Grams of Marijuana. When someone is arrested with a quantity of 50 grams or less than marijuana, they face a disorderly persons offense pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(4). While this is a misdemeanor, you will have a criminal record for at least 5 years until it can be expunged if you are not eligible for Conditional Discharge and are convicted. In addition to the record, this form of marijuana possession carries up to six (6) months in jail, loss of driver’s license, and fines/assessment exceeding $1,000.
- Fourth Degree Marijuana Possession. Where the quantity possessed for personal use is more than 50 grams, N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(4) makes this offense a fourth degree crime. A felony charge like this can only be handled at the Burlington County Superior Court in Mount Holly NJ. If you are indicted and convicted of this offense, you face a $25,000 fine, along with the potential for 18 months in state prison. The mandatory license revocation also applies to fourth degree possession of marijuana.
Evesham Marijuana Lawyer
Given all of the efforts to legalized marijuana, its easy to lose sight of the fact that possession of this substances is totally illegal in New Jersey. What this means is that any quantity of marijuana has the ability to scrap you with a record, license suspension and other penalties. Your best strategy for keeping your life intact without the consequences imposed under 2C:35-10 is to defend the charge. Historically, our marijuana lawyers have been able to resolve these case through pleas, trials and conditional discharge, with a conviction being extremely rare. We are ready to contest your Burlington County case in Willingboro, Mt. Holly, Riverside, Southhampton, or Palymra. Our Mt. Laurel Criminal Firm is available immediately to discuss your case at 856-234-8900. Initial consultations are free.