Distribution of Rape Drugs
New Jersey Law: Date Rape Drugs
In the mid to late 1990's, New Jersey police saw a rise in the use of what are commonly referred to as "date rape drugs". In response to this growth, the state enacted two laws intended to address the problem of two specific drugs commonly used for this purpose. The first law is N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5.2, which concerns the manufacture or distribution of gamma hydroxybutyrate, and the second, N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5.3, which applies to distributing or manufacturing flunitrazepam. We have discuss possession of gamma hydroxybutyrate and possession of flunitrazepam elsewhere on this site, and this section addresses solely the law and penalties associated with intent to distribute these forms of Controlled Dangerous Substance. The fact that the legislature of NJ went so far as to differentiate the penalties for these forms of CDS as opposed to those involved with more run of the mile drug offenses should demontrate a particular need for an experienced criminal lawyer if you are facing a charge under either law. The attorneys at our firm are ready to assist you in this regard and utilize their over 100 years of collective experience to obtain the best resolution possible. Lawyers can be reached now at 1-877-450-8301 and initial consultations are without charge.
N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5.2: Gamma Hydroxybutrate Distribution
This law makes it illegal for any person to knowingly manufacture or possess with the intent to distribute gamma hydroxybutyrate. A violation of this law is a crime of the Second Degree except that the maximum fine is increased from the norm to $150,000. In terms of the potential incarceration penalty, an individual is subject to 5 to 10 years in prison if convicted under this statute.
N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5.3: Flunitrazepam Distribution
The statute includes the same general terms as the previously section but the fines and penalties associated with flunitrazepam are more severe. It is a First Degree crime carrying a maximum fine of $250,000 and 10 to 20 years in prison where the weight or quantity is one gram or more, and a Second Degree crime with a fine of up to $150,000 and 5 to 10 years in prison where the quantity is less than one gram.
When Possession with Intent to Distribute involves either of these drugs, the ramifications of a conviction are very extreme. Representation by a knowledgeable attorney is an absolute must. The lawyers on our defense team are highly skilled and attorneys are available anytime to assist you.