Charge With 2nd DWI Offense in Bordentown NJ
Some of the mostly highly contested DWI charges are those that involve a second offense. There are multiple reasons to explain why this is the case including the fact there is really is any wiggle room when it comes to penalties for a second offense. A conviction results in predetermined suspension period of two years unlike a first offense where there the revocation ranges from 3-12 months. The only way to avoid this penalty under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 is to successfully contest the offense. This is why it is crucially important to have a battle tested lawyer at your side if you are charged with a second offense. These offenses tend to go to trial more than any so it is critical that your attorney be committed to your defense and knowledgeable in DUI. The team at The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall may be the largest and most highly credentialed DWI/DUI defense in New Jersey. Several of the members of the firm hold dual certification on the Alcotest and as instructors in Standardized Field Sobriety Testing. Many of the attorneys are also former DWI prosecutors who know how things work from both sides. We are prepared to defend your second offense anywhere in Burlington County including in Bordentown, Mt. Laurel, Mount Holly, Pemberton and Florence. Call us 24/7 at 856-234-8900 to reach an attorney in our Mt. Laurel Office. The initial consultation is free of charge.
Penalties If You Are Convicted Of A Second DWI Offense
The penalties for a second offense are serious. There is a mandatory drivers license suspension of two years that must be imposed. The financial consequences include a fine of $500-$1,000, court assessments of approximately $275, and a mandatory Division of Motor Vehicles surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years. At the time of sentencing for a second DUI, the Judge must also impose a requirement that you serve at least 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center, as well as install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles registered in your name or which you regularly operate. The devices must remain in your vehicle during the two year suspension period plus 1-3 years following restoration. Thirty days of community services is also required. Finally, the Court must impose a jail term of at least two days and as much as 90 days. Since there is no plea bargaining N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 charges in New Jersey, the only way to avoid these penalties is for your attorney to win your case.
Florence NJ Second DWI Offense
Whether you are facing a second DWI in Evesham, Westhampton, Southampton or Burlington, the ramifications of you losing your case are severe. There are no work licenses in New Jersey nor other exceptions that allow you to drive if you are convicted. The two year driver’s license suspension bars you from driving altogether. Anyone charged with a second DUI needs to obtain the best representation possible if they want to avoid the penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. Our driving while intoxicated defense attorneys are skilled in fighting charges like yours and are available to meet with you at our Mount Laurel Office. You are also invited to contact us at 856-234-8900 for a free initial consultation.